Shopping Carts DON’T Float…at least not in the Petaluma River!

Long ago in a galaxy far far away I used to rant and rave about all the abandoned shopping carts around town.  I seem to remember addressing the City Council at least once. But I found it tiresome and vowed to

  • Never pick up or push another cart out of the ‘Hood.
  • Never take another photo of a cart unless it had a body in it. *

I do remember working with others in our ‘Hood to pick carts up and haul them back to the stores.  Loading them in the pick-up was a chore and took two of us to pull it off. And this brings us to this morning when I spotted two freshly deposited carts in the Petaluma River off the Water Street Promenade.

I was genuinely impressed with the effort.  Based on my experience hauling carts it had to take at least two people to lift the carts over the railing and into the river…

Water Street Promenade Petaluma River

Water Street Promenade Petaluma River Abandoned Carts tossed in the river

And as you can see, one of them was a perfect nose dive…

Water St Petaluma River

Water St Petaluma River Abandoned Cart Nose Dive

I had forgotten how interesting some of the abandoned cart images can be in terms of photo post processing.

It is possible to create some very interesting art images, particularly of carts that are just beneath the surface–.I may even enter one of them in a photo contest–Working Title: Petaluma River Art Objects

I offer a brief slideshow for your consideration and opinion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*By the bye, the photos I took years ago are still the first ones you see if you enter  “abandoned shopping carts Petaluma” in Google or Bing images. I guess this post may add some more. So be it.

 

3 thoughts on “Shopping Carts DON’T Float…at least not in the Petaluma River!

  1. I was reminded of you yesterday when, on the way home from the hairdresser, I stopped by the Attic, a consignment shop, and saw a miniature (about 6 x 4 inches) shopping cart. I really enjoy your posts. March on!

  2. How depressing! Plastic shopping carts. I remember when all the carts in the river were made of heavy gauge steel, and made in Pittsburgh PA. No wonder the world is so screwed up! Plastic shopping carts! Bah!

Comments are closed.