Lucchesi Turtle(s) Update

In early April, I posted an article that contained a close-up of a turtle on the sidewalk in Petaluma’s Lucchesi Park (See Lucchesi Turtle…Soaking up some rays!)

Knowing absolutely nothing about turtles, I named it BT (Big Turtle).  After searching through a few books, my wife discovered that it was a Western Pond Turtle

As it turns out, BT is not alone.  A few weeks ago I noticed a bump or lump on the pontoon dock in the middle of the lake.  I could not make it out, so I grabbed my camera and zoomed in on the dock.

Voila! There was “my” turtle!

I took a photo.

As I was setting up for another photo, I noticed another turtle coming out of the water. 

Then a third turtle arrived on scene…

It does appear that the third turtle is a different species. Notwithstanding, they were gathering together to soak up some rays!

One thought on “Lucchesi Turtle(s) Update

  1. I like it. It’s clear, organized and user friendly. The pics are beautiful. One never knows whats in that pond and it’s nice to know there’s something in there besides trash.

Comments are closed.