A Mysterious Face In The Bucket

This post is a break from my Blog Break to briefly report on a recent experience generated by my photography class at the Petaluma Arts Center.

I was practicing various settings, shooting macros, and all that technical stuff to see what worked for me and what did not. On a recent rainy day, as I was coming inside, I decided to shoot a quick pix of a bucket that was collecting rainwater.  I gave it no thought whatsoever. I just wanted to see how the camera captured the light on the water surface–no attention was given to framing, composition, etc.

Later when I downloaded it, it drove me crazy…

 ©2010 Frank Simpson

So what is the source of the face?

  • Do we in fact have spirits lurking in another Petaluma dimension (past, present, or future) trying to communicate with us?
  • Is this part of a new campaign for or against the water rate initiative in November?

Can you figure it out?

It was not my reflection as I did not look through the viewfinder. I just held the camera over the bucket and took the pix as I was walking into the house. It was intended to be a throw-away test photo.

There is a simple explanation (and it is not Photo Shop) that I will provide after the class is over. We finally figured it out. Frankly, I am glad we did as it was starting to be just a little too creepy.

To see a larger version, click on the photo above.

4 thoughts on “A Mysterious Face In The Bucket

  1. I don’t care what you say, Frank, I believe this is the spirit of Petaluma personified in your garden pail. Absolutely fantastic, whatever the technical explanation. What next for the intrepid Mr. Simpson? Certainly a stint in photojournalism!

  2. Frank You had better pour the water out of the bucket, before word gets out to the religious zealots and they come to your home to worship the image. It has happened before.

    • Me thinks I would create more problems for myself if I were to do so. Imagine, the headlines–“Homeowner Destroys Holy Water!” Instead, I will save it to water the tomatoes…. I will let you know if the tomatoes have faces on them. Hmmmm!

Comments are closed.