2010–Ah, Another Petaluma New Year

Good morning on this first day of 2010! 

As with most new years, I suspect 2010 will be more of the same with a few surprises tucked in to keep it interesting…

  • Debates and discussions over local and state revenues, budgets, etc. will continue. 
  • As it is an election year, you can expect a flood of campaign promises, literature, and the usual political posturing and pandering for votes.

The full nature and extent of my participation in the election cycle has already been discussed in Petaluma Politics–Campaign 2010 

The only question before me now is what I will “cover” in 2010. 

Will it be abandoned shopping carts? 

 

Granted, shopping carts have been a constant visual plague in Petaluma. Fortunately, their numbers have been greatly reduced due to the efforts of Raley’s and Safeway to keep them confined on their lots.  Unfortunately, other stores have not been as proactive.  Nonetheless, I see no reason to resume my “coverage” of shopping carts.  You see one cart, you’ve seen them all

 Should I resume following the Petaluma Graffiti Trail?

I abandoned the graffiti beat in 2009 for practical and personal reasons and see no reason to resume it in 2010. Graffiti has become an established part of urban culture in our society and Petaluma is no exception.

How about Trash?

Trash is an “attractive” subject in that there are many photographic opportunities. It also is a low risk subject as it is not likely you will see your name written on a wall if you write about it.  I recently acquired a camera with a powerful telephoto that enabled me to identify all the objects floating in the lake at Lucchesi…

But alas, how many photos of cups, bags, and bottles are too many? I suspect those displayed here will be sufficient unto the cause for 2010.

Looking forward…

We will just have to see what comes along.

At a minimum, I will post a blog monthly on subjects yet unknown.

……

As an aside, I started this WordPress blog in May, 2009. For a retrospective look at some of the photos used in my WordPress posts, go to Pixels of Petaluma (2009)

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “2010–Ah, Another Petaluma New Year

  1. Maybe you should focus on taking some pictures of the Petaluma City workers that should be cleaning up these things.
    I have lived here almost all of my life which will be 60 years tomorrow, and I have never seen this city look so disgusting.

    Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

