You Know You’re Getting Old When…

I have never acted my age and am not about to start doing so now.  However, I must admit that the world is engaged in a conspiracy to remind me that I am getting older…

  • I just received my Medicare Card.
  • I don’t have to ask for the “senior discount” at Noah’s Bagels–it’s automatic.
  • When I order my favorite drink in a restaurant, the waitress frequently brings it to me with a story from the bartender that goes something like this: “He really enjoys making it.  He used to make it for his grandmother.” (Augh! I really hate that!) *

LAWYER

Getting older notwithstanding, I REFUSE to grow up.

*UPDATE: October 30, 2009

A few days ago we were at Point Reyes Station and I ordered my “usual” from the bar.  This time the bartender said: “I make this for my mother all the time. She really likes them.”

Sigh…

3 thoughts on “You Know You’re Getting Old When…

  1. I know the feeling! 🙂

    There was a young lady ahead of me in a store very recently. She wanted to purchase something that required the person at the counter to request her I.D. She was nice enough to produce it and the purchase was made, no problem. I informed her that when one should be offended is when the QUIT asking for I.D. She was very happy with that comment and agreed. Went out of the door with a smile on her face.

    Sometimes, rarely, can one make an unsolicted comment and it is acceptable. Most often when I make such comments they don’t turn out as well 🙂

    Keep it goin’ Frank….you’re doing good!

  2. Cheri was asked for her ID last spring in AZ when she was buying a bottle of wine. It gave her great pleasure to be asked and she gave the 20 something clerk a big grin 🙂

Comments are closed.