A Good Cart Samaritan…

From time to time, I am asked why there are no new  graffiti blogs and photos..

OK, here’s a new graffiti pix…

August 13 2009 Download 006

Another version of the question is why no new trashy trail pixs and rants about debris in our environment? Fortunately, a partial answer to this question is that the trails have been cleaned up a bit by volunteers.

However, if needs must, I present a new trashy trail pix… featuring a bicycle (to be precise, what is left of a bicycle) and a hubcap…

August 13 2009 Download 003

Yes, these urban problems remain in Petaluma. However, I tend to tune them out these days.

So, what is important? What still interests me?  The answer is simple– spontaneous efforts of individuals who tidy things up a bit in our fair city.  For example, this morning, a woman  decided to return an abandoned shopping cart to Long’s Drugs–3/4 of a mile away…

Good Samaritan

I wonder what she might have said to the store manager…

4 thoughts on “A Good Cart Samaritan…

  1. if there’s a prize for the best caption, try: what the lady said to the Long’s store manager, “Lose something?” or if there’s no limits on the number of entries, how about, “I took this cart in 1962, and I’m done with it, so you can have it back now.” or there’s always, “I found this in Frank Simpson’s front yard and he doesn’t need it, so you can have it back.” OK, what’s my prize?

    • Ah, but you see, I have a pretty good idea of what she said–or was going to say. Almost felt sorry for the store manager.

  2. Frank,
    Thanks for posting the graffiti pictures etc. I have been doing some picture posting of my own. It is on FaceBook to make Petalumans aware as well as City Hall of what it is going on at Kenilworth/Lindberg lane. This is the site of the future East Washington Place and old Kenilworth Jr. High. Very distrubing. Last weekend, Public Works did send out a Greenwaste crew to clean up. Another large cost to the City. I would rather see revenue than garbage.
    Thanks,
    Karen

    • I understand where you are coming from on this. However, I am not sure that retail revenue is going to get us out of the situation. I have no strong public position on it but I do doubt that it will do the trick given the “backlog” of things that need attention. Practically speaking, I just tune a lot of it out anymore. You do what you can and move on…

Comments are closed.