EAST SIDE–Petaluma’s Sally Strawberry

The Carstensen Farms berry stand has become something of a tradition on the East Side. 

Known for their strawberries, honey, and blueberries, this year they have added fresh eggs (subscribers only) to the inventory.

strawberry-time-0036

In early spring, “Sally Strawberry” starts sending out e-mail advisories. And so it was again this year. Sally’s e-mail advised that they would open with the first load of strawberries on April 30. I  showed up at the designated hour to find a full parking lot and a line of customers…

strawberry-time-0021

Carstensen Farms

Look for their berry updates on  carstensenfarms.blogspot.com or google “carstensen farms”

Hours:  Casa Grande location  490 Casa Grande Rd (across from Casa Grande High School)

  • Opening Day April 30th thru June 17…… Open daily 10 – 6, closed Tues
  • June 18 thru July 31  …… Open 12 – TBD  Days closed TBD

TIP–Their “operating hours” fluctuate depending upon harvest conditions. The easiest way to know when they will be open is to sign up for their e-mail list on their blogspot site (link above).

If you are into using Twitter, Sally can accommodate: “A longtime customer encouraged me to send quick updates on Twitter so….. I’m going to give it a try.  It looks like a easy, quick way to get late afternoon updates out to everyone.  I hate to have anyone drive over to a closed gate and make a special trip – that’s why I send afternoon updates – to take some of the guesswork out of your berry trips. Twitter will not replace my emails.  No worry.  Twitter folks will get the updates faster because I only have to write 1 line of text, and I don’t have to cut and paste to fit 1100 contacts into messages.  My emails will always be there for you, how would I fulfill my need for farmer chatter and distribute recipes without it???  (that’s right, you need some recipes tomorrow)  Follow Twitter if you like, email if you like – be happy – that’s my only objective.”

You can find  Sally on http://twitter.com/carstensenfarms.

